Governing Boards

Southfield School has two boards that are responsible for its successful operation: The Board of Trustees and Foundation Board.

Southfield School is a not-for-profit corporation with 501(c)(3) status.  The fiscal responsibility for non-profit organizations is held corporately by a Board of Trustees, made up of parents, alumni, and interested members of the community.  The Southfield Board of Trustees assures the school’s fiscal and academic well-being, develops short-term and long-term plans for the school, raises funds and manages debt, and hires the Head of School.  Board Members are nominated by the Trustee Committee and invited to serve for an open ended term, renewed annually.

The Foundation Board acts as an advisory board and handles the management and investment of the trust, which holds the school’s endowment funds. Foundation members are invited to serve for an open ended term.

The Board of Trustees

Walker Coburn, President

Juliana Bean

Andrew Crawford

Edward Crawford

Paul Dickson, Jr

Kevin Flood, Vice-President

Ghali Ghali, DDS, MD, FACS

Jimmy Hale

Tom Jackson

Jenny Johnston

John Michael Moore

Edward Lee

Preston Lowder

Clay Nelson, Secretary

Jack O’Neill

Mike Smith

Todd Stanberry

Sarah Toups

Dawn Ward

Tonya Wellman

David Winkler

Kasey Garcia, Treasurer 

The Foundation Board

James Madison, President
Peyton LaBorde, Secretary
Kasey Garcia, Treasurer
John Atkins ’83
Kevin Briley
Walker Coburn ’98
Edward Crawford ’68, Life Trustee
Rita Hummingbird
Katy Merriman
Alan Murphy
Ginny Murphy
Patty Selber Newton
Thomas Sanders
Katie Weir
Julie Zadeck ’76
Adnan Samhan, Director of Finance
Sumer Cooner, Director of Advancement